Not signed in (Sign In)
This discussion has been inactive for longer than 5 days, and doesn't want to be resurrected.
    •  
      CommentAuthoroldhat
    • CommentTimeJul 19th 2011
     (10060.1)
    Alright, so. Tomorrow I'll be picking myself up an e-reader and one of the things I'd like to do is find a service that takes RSS feeds and puts them all in to a PDF or word file every couple of days for easy reading on my commute. Now other than not knowing if such a service exists (help?) I also don't really know many good RSS feeds out there.

    So what do you read? Topics can be anything. news, weirdness, SCIENCE...anything. What feeds do you read Whitechapel?
    •  
      CommentAuthorBeamish
    • CommentTimeJul 19th 2011 edited
     (10060.2)
    Im on my phone so i cannot easily link but i read Lifehacker, how-to-geek,bleeding cool and weekly crisis.

    I used to follow physorg but they post a ton and its hard yo keep up.

    Edit to add warrenellis because someone has to read it.
    Edited again for linkage.
    • CommentAuthorRenThing
    • CommentTimeJul 19th 2011
     (10060.3)
    BoingBoing
    Grinding.be
    Lowering the Bar
    Pharyngula
    The Thirsty Wench (well, I do!)
    Babel Clash
    Shimmer
    Suvudu
    Tor.com
    The Pioneer Woman's recipe feed (because she makes some killer food)
    •  
      CommentAuthorsneak046
    • CommentTimeJul 20th 2011 edited
     (10060.4)
    My RSS feeder is nigh on impossible to manage due to a massive number of feeds, but here's a selection that's not already been mentioned:

    BERG
    Beyond the Beyond (Bruce Sterling's wired blog)
    global guerillas
    Ars Technica

    And from my "whitechapel" folder:

    the weaponizer feed
    Bob's Blog
    Screw Jeff Owens
    Shades of Caruso

    (I am subscribed to a few more of the blogs that people here run - incl the thirsty wench, but these are the ones I tend to 'go to' first. Also, the ones that get updated more frequently...)


    I had similar problems to Beamish with the physorg feed, and the new scientist too.

    I am finding RSS to be really more useful for lengthier reads rather than staying up to date with the latest updates nowadays anyway - Twitter does that job much better. But I tend to wade into it at the weekends when I am otherwise in low-power mode so I can digest info at a steadier pace.

    I'm pretty sure Warren has posted about RSS -> .pdf services in the past.

    Warren posted about a service called "Tabbloid" that seems to do this job
    •  
      CommentAuthorravnos
    • CommentTimeJul 20th 2011 edited
     (10060.5)
    •  
      CommentAuthorAzabith
    • CommentTimeJul 20th 2011 edited
     (10060.6)
    here are a few i got in my feed

    Geekologie www.geekologie.com
    Radio Lab podcast http://www.radiolab.org/
    Change This http://changethis.com/
    Seth Godin http://sethgodin.typepad.com/
    The 99 percent http://the99percent.com/
    Zen Habits http://zenhabits.net/
    Tim Ferris http://www.fourhourworkweek.com/blog/
    Motionographer http://motionographer.com/
    Lifehacker http://lifehacker.com/
    Lost Garden http://www.lostgarden.com/
    Harper's Magazine http://harpers.org/
    Mashallah News http://mashallahnews.com/
    Reuters oddly enough http://www.reuters.com/news/oddlyEnough
    Fast Company http://www.fastcompany.com/
    iPhoneography http://www.iphoneography.com/


    this is just the general stuff besides the comix feed
    • CommentAuthorDC
    • CommentTimeJul 21st 2011
     (10060.7)
    BLDG BLOG
    we make money not art
    longform
    The Rhizome Frontpage
    SpaceCollective
    Collhunter

    These are the ones I have that have't been mentioned (like BoingBoing, grinding.be, Seth Godin, etc.). I have a ton more but all are related to webcomics, comics authors and local politics.

This discussion has been inactive for longer than 5 days, and doesn't want to be resurrected.