Not signed in (Sign In)
    • CommentAuthorDracko
    • CommentTimeMar 2nd 2008 edited
    I'm having a time out until I can learn some manners.
    Trent, you lunatic genius.

    <a href=""></a>

    He's at it so soon? Well, it would seem so.

    I'm still in the process of downloading the first of the four volumes (Try your luck with <a href="">RapidShare</a>, though, as the site is understandably swamped and being difficult), but my understanding is its supposed to be an instrumental series. This might be great news to some who've found Reznor's lyrics insipid, if not insufferable, and it won't cost you much at all to give it a go either. The other volumes are streamed at the site too.

    Trent going instrumental was bound to happen sooner or later, really.
    • CommentTimeMar 2nd 2008 edited
    I've been streaming from the site for a couple of hours now (can't get the connection to the store itself to go through).

    So far it's quite excellent. To me it seems somewhat like his other stuff, but because of how crucial a role his vocals play in most of his songs, it strikes me as an entirely different sort of thing as well. (I know, vague, but it's the best I can describe it at the moment)

    To me it seems, from the 9 or so samples I can get at, that the thing runs the gamut between more peaceful piano pieces with some industrial flair over it to downright industrial drone.

    You get 9 songs for free (320kbps drm-free mp3s) and some of the artwork. You can pay $5 U.S. for a download of the whole thing and the same artwork (this option, it says, has multiple different format choices). $10 U.S. for a 2xCD deal. $75 U.S. for a deluxe package.
    and $300 U.S. for 4xLP 180 gram vinly and some special edition prints and other thing, on top of the deluxe package (and it will be signed by Reznor)

    It looks like all of the physical medium options also come with the full download as well.

    I'm really looking forward to getting the whole thing. Should be excellent music to read, sleep, or meditate too.

    Edited to make me sound less of a jackass (if possible), and to note the dollar amounts are U.S.
  1.  (1237.3)
    I opted to download it now and get a hardcopy. Warren's recent plight has only reinforced my commitment to going solely digital as little as possible.

    I'm liking it so far!

    As for Trent going instrumental, there's actually a companion disk to his "And All That Could Have Been" live album called "Still." You can order it from the site. It has a few accoustic versions of his songs and includes the rejected score he did for "One Hour Photo." That disk is amazing, and actually sounds very similar to this. Lots of piano.
  2.  (1237.4)

    Leaving hope breaks my heart every time I hear it.

    Re: Ghosts

    I've been waiting all week for the big announcement, and like an idiot I forgot about it when Saturday finally rolled around. Unfortunately I'm at work now, and can only listen to the samples. Like all his other stuff, I love it.

    As big a NIN fan as I am, the REALLY awesome thing about this doesn't have anything to do with the quality of the music, it's this... Ghosts I-IV is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike license.

    Way to go Trent.

    Also from the FAQ page: "An exciting partnership and experience regarding this release will be announced soon."
    Anyone wanna guess what that could mean?
    • CommentAuthortmofee
    • CommentTimeMar 3rd 2008
    Bought and downloading as I am typing. :D

    @reasonableman - probably something to do with the record label. Maybe he's opening it up? *shurgs*
  3.  (1237.6)
    ag ag ag, anyone else get an error when they try to order a CD?


    Leaving Hope is one of my favourite ever tracks.
    • CommentAuthortmofee
    • CommentTimeMar 3rd 2008
    mine download crashed have way through, only get one chance to download it.

    *sigh* i tried legally. least i know i paid the cash for it...
  4.  (1237.8)

    It's a CC licence. Just hit a bittorrent site (totally legal for once).
  5.  (1237.9)

    Same here. If I ever got to meet him, that is the one song I would definitely ask him out. To me there has never been an instrumental song from any artist that is so accurately described by its title. I'm really curious about what his state of mind was when he wrote that. Because it was written during some of his darkest times I'm sort of inclined to believe that he may have thought it would be the last song he would ever release. When I first listened to Still, I couldn't help but think that it was intended as a sort of an epitaph for his musical career. If that were the case, Leaving Hope would have been a fitting finale. It is the saddest and most beautiful song I've ever heard.
  6.  (1237.10)

    What Paul said. Check out the link in my first post. It was taken directly from the FAQ.
    • CommentTimeMar 3rd 2008
    Somehow I can't get past the interrogation bit where the website tries to figure out whether I am, or am not, a bot. I think I should be concerned that the internet won't recognize my humanity, but I just can't be persuaded to care at the moment.
    • CommentTimeMar 3rd 2008
    Huh. This is certainly a surprise.
  7.  (1237.13)

    An AWESOME surprise!
    • CommentTimeMar 3rd 2008
    anybody else have trouble not getting the full album download after buying the 2 disc pre-order? I'm trying to get clarification from their email support but want to see if other customers have had a similar experience. Site says, under the 2 disc pre-order option, that each purchase gets a one time FULL download link, mine only gave me the "sample" download :<
  8.  (1237.15)
    When I was waiting for a late bus or train I used to say 'This is like waiting for a Nine Inch Nails album'.

    Now I can't use that. Two albums in 2005 and 2007 and now a giant four part thing less than a year after Year Zero....

    This changes the meaning of my simile a bit. I suppose now it would have to mean being ran over suddenly when I am not looking, by four buses than all arrive really early.

    I'll even be able to listen eventually... the download is really crawling.
    • CommentAuthorradian
    • CommentTimeMar 3rd 2008
    Sounds interesting, I'll have to get hold of this.

    I've always prefered the remixes and even the Quake soundtrack to his usual NIN stuff so an instrumental release could be just the ticket.
    • CommentTimeMar 3rd 2008
    Monday mornings are usually as enjoyable as an unmedicated root canal, but this changes everything.

    Oh happy day! Oh glory!
  9.  (1237.18)
    a banjo ! (28 ghosts IV)
    it's rather a good listen so far.
    • CommentTimeMar 3rd 2008

    It'd be a lot awesomer (?) if

    a)I hadn't found out about this ten minutes before I left for work, and
    b)the download site weren't bollocksed.

    STILL. Very, very awesome. I listened to a little bit before I left, and I really dig where his head is at with this.
  10.  (1237.20)
    Well, I 'ordered' the CD copy of the album using paypal to pay, and there was no confirmation email, and the money hasn't gone out of my account. Some higher-internet-power doesn't want me to pay for this album. Anyone else had this problem? I don't want to order it again only to have my first payment register late.