Not signed in (Sign In)
    •  
      CommentAuthorpetehindle
    • CommentTimeOct 23rd 2010
     (9001.21)
    Hello. My name is Pete.

    I lurk here a lot. Whitechapel is a fascinating community, full of people who are producing stuff that I find interesting, but that also makes it hard to come out and say "hi!". The closest I've got in the past few years was the "what's in your bag?" thread that Warren started a while ago.

    I used to be a digital artist (Processing, PD, arduino), then I went into academia for a short while. Then I got a rare disease with thirteen syllables in its name, and I've spent the past year or so recovering from that.

    I look like this:
    My head, but without my chin
    but in real life I have a chin.
    •  
      CommentAuthorElfay
    • CommentTimeOct 24th 2010 edited
     (9001.22)
    Ok, I have no serious props for this site as I can't draw. How and ever...

    My nickname Elfay is actually just my first initial and pronunciation of my last name – I’ve had it for nearly 13 years, since I started my first email acct. with AOL.

    I’m a long-time gamer, geek & web builder. By profession over the years I’ve worked in film, television and theater (many of those years in New York.)

    Regular in Second Life; I started a jazz radio show on the net called Coffee & Pajamas Jazz Show in March 2006. www.coffeeandpajamas.com Doing the show has created a serious interest in internet radio, streaming encoding technology and renewed a lifelong love of Jazz. Favorite MMORPG was Uru which I played for over a year on the Guild of Greeters Shard in “Until Uru”. I was a Beta-tester for the re-launched “Uru Live”. Also interested in machinima (see www.illclan.com) – which was great fun and introduced me to a new and fun style of animation and real time digital video.

    I currently live in Dublin and also have a house in the Pre-Pyrenees Mountains of the South of France that I spent four years remodeling. I'm pretty mad for photographing the people/places in my life: www.elfay.deviantart.com

    Before moving to France in 2001, I grew up in the American mid-west, lived and worked in New York for about 7 years and also lived in Scotland and Ireland once before, in the mid-90’s.

    The photo is me this past Friday, after a night out at a burlesque show with my paramour and regular member here; Vandalhandle. I'm posting this to introduce myself and also to see if he finds it.
    null
    •  
      CommentAuthorElfay
    • CommentTimeOct 24th 2010 edited
     (9001.23)
    aha! sorted. good.
    •  
      CommentAuthorYskaya
    • CommentTimeOct 24th 2010 edited
     (9001.24)
    Has Vanhandel found Elfay here yet?
    Will Petehindle expose us to his chin in the selfportrait image tread?
    And dare I say 'Hi!' to Megrar and not wave awkwardly for lurking in tandem at the Engine, secretly, unbeknowst to each other?

    Apparently, Yes I do!

    Welcome New People. Warren's suitably distracted by writing and Newdz are taking over sip.
    Start a topic or two or six on dogs and ponies and watch me get booted for indecent incitement by verbiage. :)

    Or alternatively reread the rules before posting errors overcome thee. As they did me.

    Still reading this jabberwocky? Your reading skill improved +1. ;)
    •  
      CommentAuthorLuckyPanda
    • CommentTimeOct 26th 2010
     (9001.25)
    Hello! My name is Katie.

    I've been a professional archaeologist for six years. I'm trying to get into Art School by doing a part-time portfolio course. I like taking pictures, painting and sculpting. You can follow my progress on Flickr. My family are artists, my brother got all the good genetic material. After about ten years of science and the construction industry, I caved. You can't fight biology.

    This is a little something for Halloween:

    skull chalk

    Thanks for the free web-comic :-)
  1.  (9001.26)
    I'm Gerry, and found Freakangels yesterday around 10am. I've just ordered a Freakangels bag to carry the new personalities inhabiting the 'I know you' gland pulsing purple in my head. I'm a freelance writer living in the Netherlands and have spent the last hours catching up with your years' work. If that's not a timebend exemplar I dunno. And if I can find somewhere to put a pic of me to link to I'll come back and do that. For now, thanks for this amazing story.
  2.  (9001.27)
    Hi. My name is Hannah. I don't know how to introduce myself, I don't have a witty fact about myself but I do have useless knowledge accumulated over four years of higher education (probably unnecessary, definitely not very educational.) It did mean I got to read books for four years and pretend I knew what I was talking about. Now I'm in the real world I'm slightly less sure and looking for a distraction :D.

    me
    • CommentAuthorThomDunn
    • CommentTimeOct 26th 2010
     (9001.28)
    I'm not a very frequent poster, but here's me looking smug:

    I'm a writer/musician/visual artist living in Boston. By day, I work as the Web & New Media Manager for the largest professional theatre in New England. By night, I get into all manner of things involving words, rock and roll, bicycles, and homebrewing. I write every Monday at fivebyfivehundred.com, and I'm also a playwright with several productions to my name (the next one being in December in Hollywood, if you're interested). I grew up in the same town as Eli Whitney and Duane "The Rock" Johnson (just, ya know, not at the same time). Some of my favorite stories involving accidentally winning awards for being black (I'm not, in case you couldn't tell)(unless Black Irish counts, but I tried that, and it doesn't), being born with a hole in my heart, and being mauled with Asian women while riding my bicycle.

    I also have a pet chinchilla named Yubnub. (Her sister, Dustbath Pedroia, departed from this life several months ago, because she was too fat and lazy to get a goddamn drink of water during a heatwave)
  3.  (9001.29)
    Hi, My name's Manny. I'm from Australia and I stumbled in here when I was looking for what happened to Desolation Jones 9 and decided to stick around and finally joined up. I'd say I'm an amateur artist working a dull nine-to-fiver but eh, it pays the bills. I have a sporadic relationship with video games but other things seem to get in the way. I enjoy going to live music(and ought to go to more) and spend my weekend volunteering at a community radio station. Gah, need to draw more or my head will implode out of boredom...

    an approximation..
    • CommentAuthorcara
    • CommentTimeOct 28th 2010
     (9001.30)
    Hi, my name is cara, and I live in New Hampshire. I'm 24 years old and am currently working as an advertising sales representative for a film studio here in NH. I don't know what else to say. I like to draw/paint, I like to cook, I like mountains, and I like typewriters. I dislike spiders, I dislike mushrooms, I dislike staplers, and I dislike waterskiing. My favorite animal is the hedgehog. I don't have a favorite color because I like them all. I used to drink too much coffee.

    This is what I look like:


    This is once when I was trying on a wig:
    •  
      CommentAuthorPaul Sizer
    • CommentTimeOct 28th 2010 edited
     (9001.31)
    I dislike staplers


    That may be the oddest "dislike" I've ever seen; you'll fit in well, Cara. Welcome aboard!
  4.  (9001.32)
    Chris Arrant here. I participated occasionally on the WEF and the Engine, but the last couple years I've been out of forum-ing business for a couple years. I keep busy by writing about comics and genre entertainment for Marvel, Newsarama and occassionally CBR's Robot 6 blog. I've also written a handful of comics, such as stories in Comic Book Tattoo, 24Seven Vol. 2 and Negative Burn #9 and I did the one-shots Female Force: Princess Diana (for Bluewater) and 4 Stories (self published).
    •  
      CommentAuthorbrittanica
    • CommentTimeOct 29th 2010
     (9001.33)
    Heh. I couldn't stay away very long. Figure this is an opportunity to re-introduce myself.

    I go by brittanica on the webs, but my name's really Brittney. I'm 23, I live in Nashville, and I used to be on here A LOT.
    I work in a supermarket bakery, occasionally decorating cakes, but mostly begrudgingly slicing bread. I'm not an artist, I'm not a writer, I don't do science, so I don't really feel like I belong on here. But there's great people in the ranks and interesting conversations going on. I dunno, sometimes I hope being in the midst of all this talent and ambition, some of it will rub off on me. 'Cause I honestly don't know what I want to do w/ my life.
    I love music (especially live music), post-apocalypse fiction, caffeine, wrestling (yeah, yeah), cats, and hating myself (but I'm working on it).

    135513125-f9125f8320676d6053a25484056967a2.4c561890-scaled